Training High School Students for Cyberwar – CyberPatriot III

Are you a high school student interested in computer security and cyberwar? Then I have some exciting news for you.

The Air Force has teamed up with Northrop Grumman and a host of other sponsors to create CyberPatriot. CyberPatriot is the national high school cyber defense competition.

Students learn about network security and attacks and then are placed in control of hardening and defending a network from live red team attacks.

What a great opportunity for high school students looking at a career in computer security and cyber defense.

For more information check out the Cyber Patriot webpage.

14 thoughts on “Training High School Students for Cyberwar – CyberPatriot III”

  1. *Sigh* I wish they’d had this when I was in school. And what about us soon-to-be college grads? Why aren’t they vacuuming us up? We need work to damn it! LOL

    1. No doubt Philo. Man, when I graduated from High School I had to look all over the place to find a school that even offered PC training. Everything was either mainframe or computer programming…

    2. Actually, they have the CCDC (Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition, iirc), which I believe is what this is modeled after.

      It’s good to see more focus on security through education; however, I think it’s a bit over-hyped to say this is “training them for cyberwar.”

      1. Aw come on man, it’s the Air Force and Northrop Grumman. 🙂

        They are looking for future “cyber warriors”.

        The US has shortages in qualified security guys, so I think they are taking a page from Israel’s military hiring techniques and looking for young talent that they can scoop up.

  2. Hey bud, did you catch the info going around about the chicoms re-routing approx. 15% of the worlds interwebs traffic from the ‘open’ non-essential chicom networks to & through their government spy networks?

    1. Nah, I think I picked a horrible picture for the China article. Defensetech definitely has a much better picture.

      I took a picture of Gates in a meeting with foreign military and merged a dude with binocs to it.

      I looked for a cool Chinese flag, just couldn’t find one I liked…

  3. “I looked for a cool Chinese flag, just couldn’t find one I liked…” LOL(!) I don’t like any of them wither

    @only_samurai:

    Thanx for the news. Unfortunately, I’m at the end of my degree and just found out that my college has been competing at a national level in this for years! Sons-A-Bitches! I never even knew…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.