Try iCloud for Free

As many of you know, I am not a fan of Cloud computing. But I have to admit, this looks pretty good. This is iCloud by a company called Xcerion. It basically gives you a virtual desktop with file sharing, apps and collaboration capability all through your browser.

It comes with 3 GB of storage space, but for $39.99 you can upgrade to 100 GB of storage and it includes backup capability. I must admit, be able to access 100GB of storage through your iPhone could be handy.  

Now, because I do not like cloud solutions, here is my security spew. Use a complex password, do not put critical or sensitive files on cloud storage, keep your anti-virus and security patches up to date.

Why don’t I like cloud solutions? You have to remember that your data that you upload is no longer under your control in a cloud solution. You can verify the steps you take to secure your local network, but you can not verify the security steps that your cloud provider takes.They may not have the same security plans and policies that you use.

 Also, because they use computers themselves, they are susceptible to crashes, outages and viruses, just as you are. Recently the US treasury shut down 4 cloud hosted websites due to malware.

I would show you some live screen shots of the program in action, but when I tried to login to the service twice today this is what I saw:

I think this might be the cloud equivalent of the old Windows “Blue Screen of Death”. 🙂

If you are interested in cloud solutions, check it out, hopefully you will have better luck than I did.

~ by D. Dieterle on August 13, 2010.

5 Responses to “Try iCloud for Free”

  1. This is neat! I’m leaving this comment from the iCloud desktop. I don’t think I would ever trust this thing with any of my credentials, but this might come in handy from time-to-time. It’s important for people to fully read the user agreement to make sure they understand the terms of service.

    I’m going to go and try some other things now. =)

  2. Guess what? Because it runs in a browser, if you go to certain Websites with pop-up adds, those pop-up adds show up in your real desktop environment and are not contained with in the iCloud desktop environment. Just something to keep in mind.

    I was also logged out of iCloud for no apparent reason, but I was able to get in.

    While in a browser, try bringing up an image and saving it. Where does it want to save it? LOL

    I think I’m going to take back what I said about this being handy. LOL – But thanks though. This was certainly interesting.🙂

  3. Wahoo! It’s working for me now. This message is from iCloud.

    At first it was a little clunky speed wise, but after a few minutes, it was pulling up videos and such pretty nicely.

    Mister Reiner, I think your right about the pop-ups. There does seem to be a tie in there. Especially when you go to save pictures. 🙂

    Quite a bit of add-in stuff to check out, apps, utilites, games and such. Interesting, I like it.

  4. Mister Reiner,

    I looked at the comment log in WordPress. I thought that my comment from the iCloud interface would have shown up as being from a different IP. It wasn’t, that’s kinda odd.

    It must still use your machine’s IP stack to communicate and send messages instead of “The Clouds”.

    Interesting.

    • At first I thought it was a complete remote desktop solution in a browser and then when I saw that pop-up, I realized that it’s a pseudo desktop – your browser with some Java widgets that connect to their remote server. That’s why its the same IP. It’s smoke and mirrors.😉

Leave a Reply

 
