SUPERAntiSpyware Review

The good folks at SUPERAntiSpyware gave me a free copy of their Professional version software quite a while back. Honestly, I was hesitant to try it.

There are so many anti-spyware programs out there now, and some are actually viruses, I just wasn’t interested.

I did a quick search on the product and found that even though PCMag gave it only a fair rating, I noticed that the users of the product gave it an excellent rating. I was intrigued.

I installed it right beside my PC Tools Spyware Doctor with Anti-virus. If you have been following my blog for a while, then you know that I am a strong PC Tools backer. When I was in the corporate world, it was what I found that cleaned virus infected machines that were protected by the “Big Two” anti-virus companies. And I have stuck with it ever since.

Here is what I found out about SUPERAntiSpyware. It installs quick and is not a resource hog. In my opinion, it is better at discovering spyware related threats than PC Tools, as on my machine it discovered many adware type items that PC Tools passed over. Also, it found a spyware virus in one of my computer security utilities, again that PC Tools said was okay. And let’s not forget that it was one of the few programs that could detect the USB shortcut vulnerability.

This brings to mind that you need to be really cautious downloading computer security tools. Make sure you download them from the creator and check the hash to make sure that what you got is what the creator intended and not something that a hacker uploaded.

I like SUPERAntiSpyware, it scans fast and is not obtrusive. My only complaint is the small splash screen that comes up every time I boot my PC. Sure, it tells you that the product is active, I just don’t like it.  

Over all I am very happy with SUPERAntiSpyware and plan on keeping it running beside by PCTools Spyware Doctor. They have been running a special on their Professional Version with Lifetime Updates for $19.95. If you are looking for an anti-spyware solution, check it out!

~ by D. Dieterle on August 10, 2010.

3 Responses to “SUPERAntiSpyware Review”

  1. Just got a heads up from Mike at SUPERAnti-Spyware. The splash intro screen can be disabled in the Preference section from the main menu.

    Doh! My bad, lol, thanks!

  2. LOL This is really funny cause I run SaS too, and was gonna uninstall it and try Spybot for awhile. SaS is the one that was always recommended in the various AV forums, along with Avast!, or AVG.

    I do like it. Only thing I’m trying to figure out now is why it flags my frakin flash player 10.1… all the time.

    You can disable that funky looking flash screen. It’s somewhere in the settings…

  3. It found 1 tracking ware in my system memory and I was impresses and I have used it since then. I also bought the paid version and I have now enabled the real time protection.

Leave a Reply

 
