CyberArms is Back! Security News, Book Reviews and More

I’ve been out of town for almost two months sans internet and had a long time to think about this blog, among other things. So I figured it was well and about time to kick some new life into it and get it spun up again.

Yes!

I haven’t posted on CyberArms consistently for a long time, yet I still amazed at the constant flood of visitors that still check in every day. So, I have decided to begin posting regularly again. Yup, security news, computer tips and even some cool military stuff!

New Ethical Hacking Book!

Though I haven’t been posting, I have been fairly busy on other projects. The biggest one is the release of my new book, “Basic Security Testing with Kali Linux“:

Basic Security Testing with Kali Linux

Over 300 pages packed full with hands-on step by step Ethical Hacking tutorials. An E-Book version will be out later this week!

Navy Base Visit

During my two month “vacation”, I was able to visit one of our top Navy bases. I met some great people, got to see numerous Naval Warships and even got a tour of a Super Carrier!

I also watched the movie “Lone Survivor” on the base. It was a powerful movie, and watching it surrounded by our men and women in the Navy was an experience that I will never forget.

Vice Adm. Rogers Cyber Command Nomination

I was delighted to hear that Vice Admiral Michael Rogers was nominated to be the future leader of both Cyber Command and the NSA. I have had the honor of meeting Vice Adm. Rogers and his wife at a Navy function (non-cybersecurity related) a few years ago.

He was down to Earth, professional, competent and truly seems to be a man of integrity.

I cannot think of a man more qualified to man the helm of our nations Cyber War and Signals Intelligence forces.

Books

I was able to catch up on some reading during my vacation too. Here are two of my favorites:

Information Warfare” is an older book by Winn Schwartau, the Second Edition was published in 1996! I was reading a computer book about 20 years old, yet the content and information still seems very pertinent today.

Bravo Two Zero” is a first hand account of a British SAS unit in Iraq during the First Gulf War that evolved into one of the longest Escape and Evasion treks in history. If you liked the movie Lone Survivor, you will love this book.

Coming Soon

Security news & tutorials, military news, computer tips and some news on more upcoming books.

Stay tuned!

 

~ by D. Dieterle on February 17, 2014.

2 Responses to “CyberArms is Back! Security News, Book Reviews and More”

  1. Its awesome to see you back.
    Looking forward for the next reads.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

